Wrangling Plastic Bags

15 Jul

If you’re anything like me, you always intend to bring your reusable bags into stores with you, but they end up staying in either the closet or the trunk of the car.  This means plastic bags.  Lots and lots of plastic bags.  Living in a small apartment, I have limited space.  The last time I opened the storage closet in the hall, I was assaulted by bottles that needed to be recycled, plastic bags, my beloved Dyson, and cleaning supplies.  I saw this idea on Pinterest for using an empty wipes container to wrangle the mass of plastic bags a long time ago, and knew that at some point in my life I might try it.  Someday.  Well, the day has arrived!

I still have some embellishing to do, but I’m not in a rush.  I had one of those super large containers of disinfecting wipes, and I used the last one the other day.  What a better time to give this a go?

Remove the label with one quick cut, and you end up with a blank canvas.

Make sure to rinse out the container to get rid of any liquid or cleaner smell.

Step 1:  Lay out your plastic bags flat and smoosh out the air.

Step 2:  Fold the bag in half the tall way, again smooshing out air.

Step 3:  Fold the handle up.

Step 4:  Follow steps 1 and 2 with another bag, placing the handle on top of the bottom of the first bag.

Step 5:  Start rolling!  Start with the side that has the handle folded upwards and roll.  You’ll roll over the handle of the second bag.  Because I didn’t have a lot of space, I rolled halfway down the second bag and then added another bag, kept rolling, and so on.

Step 5 1/2:  This is what your final roll should look like.  When you get all your bags rolled, you’re ready to put it in the container.

The Final Product!

Once you get the roll of bags in the container, you are all set!  The handle of the first bag is ready to be pulled, and because of the way you rolled the bags, the next bag is connected to the first and will pop up when you pull out the first bag.  Genius!

Decorating the container will come later, but as for now, my bags are all in one place!

Happy up-cycling!!!!!

2 Responses to “Wrangling Plastic Bags”

  1. mrsheresatip July 15, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    Love this idea! Will be trying it very soon:)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

