Sunday Breakfast: Take One

26 Feb

I’m always looking for a new Sunday breakfast recipe.  It’s the one day out of the week that I try to eat something other than Kashi or oatmeal.  This morning, I tried a recipe that I found in All You Magazine:  Potato, Pepper, and Chorizo Hash with Fried Eggs.  Okay, I say I tried the recipe, but the truth is that I used the recipe as a base.  I thought it would be a great way to use up the veggies I had leftover from the week – the red bell pepper that was beginning to wrinkle, the three lone Yukon gold potatoes, and some sausage that I had bought in bulk from Costco.  So I made a hash, and it turned out quite yummy.

Now, keep in mind that I grew up in a Sicilian kitchen; measurements and I don’t necessarily go together.  But for purposes of recreating this feast, I’ll do my best.

The first thing I did was dice up the three potatoes I had on hand.  You can use any kind of potato you like, and I think if I make this again, I’ll use sweet potatoes.  Dice them up, put them in a pot with about an inch of water over the top of the potatoes, and bring them to a boil.

While the potatoes are boiling, you can get started on the vegetables.  I chopped up half of a sweet onion, one red bell pepper, and a handful of baby bella mushrooms (maybe a cup).  I threw those in a pan with some olive oil, salt, and pepper, and let them cook.  I sliced three links of sweet Italian sausage, and added it to the vegetables.  Here’s where you get fancy.  If you don’t eat meat, you can leave it out all together, or use soy crumbles.  Or, if you like things hot, you can use a hot sausage.  Don’t be shy.  Once the potatoes were tender (it took about ten minutes), I added those to the skilled with the vegetables and the sausage so that potatoes could crisp up and the flavors could all blend together.

Once the mixture had cooked together for about ten minutes, I put it in a casserole dish and placed it in the oven that I had set on 250.  This just kept the veggies and sausage warm while I fried the eggs.  Now I don’t like my eggs at all runny, so I always break the yolk and let the egg sizzle away on a pan sprayed with Pam.  Again, make your eggs however you’d like.  You are, after all, the one that will eventually eat this.  After each egg was fried, I added it to the casserole dish.

This is a great way to use up any veggies you have leftover from the week – a single stalk of celery, some mushrooms, peppers, onions, tomatoes, anything really.

One Response to “Sunday Breakfast: Take One”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Clean Out the Fridge Hash « Thirty-Something and Fabulous - April 16, 2012

    […] but there’s no reason why you couldn’t add your eggs to the mixture on the stove.  Here’s a recipe for a baked hash that I made a while back.  I threw a little cheddar cheese in with the eggs for a little something […]

Leave a Reply

