The $5.00 Savings Plan: February

29 Feb

I’m not the best when it comes to saving money.  I like to shop.  I like to buy gifts.  I like to spend what little money I have.  But at the beginning of February, I decided to try something:  The $5.00 Savings Plan.  I have done this before; you save every $5.00 bill that makes its way into your wallet.  I had actually forgotten all about this until it popped up on Pinterest one day, and I was reminded of how much I had saved in the past because of this plan.

Now, I remember that it wasn’t a HUGE sum of cash, but it was enough for a new pair of shoes or a haircut.  I decided that I would put this plan into action for the month of February to see how much I could save.  I thought it might be a little tough since I’m more of a debit card kind of girl, but I found myself using more cash just so I could see if I would get any $5.00 bills in my change.

Sometimes I got a little frustrated, especially when I found myself handing over $20.00, only to get $15.00 in fives back.  But, I convinced myself that it was all going to the same place anyway – me – so what did it matter when I actually got to spend it?

February turned out to be lucrative.  I managed to save $80.00!  Not bad, if I do say so myself.

I did exchange some larger bills for these smaller bills for laundry, but I really did end up with $80.00.

5 Responses to “The $5.00 Savings Plan: February”

  1. Dominique February 29, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    Wow! $80 is pretty impressive. Good for you! What do you plan to do with it this year?

    • stacy1220 February 29, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

      I think I might get my hair cut… finally. Hahaha. Not too sure yet. I’m starting a new weight loss endeavor, so maybe a new outfit in 10 pounds?

      • Derek February 29, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

        You should by cowboy boots with spurs and wear them out clubbing.

      • stacy1220 February 29, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

        When I was a little girl, I used to have red cowboy boots. My Uncle Tony sent them to me from Arizona. I wore them everyday, but I especially loved wearing them with a jean skirt. Clearly I was ahead of my time. 🙂

      • Dom Will Run For Beer March 1, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

        Great idea! I have the same goal – 10 pounds = new outfit. You can do it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

