Getting Fit: Version 2012.1

2 Mar

In my post about keeping a health journal, I mentioned my goal and that I would write about it in another post.  Well, here it is.

I’ve always thought setting goals was important, but one thing I’ve noticed about myself is that if I fail to meet a goal, no matter how hard I had tried or how close I came to it, I get discouraged and upset and I never want to do it again.  Self-sabotaging behavior.  Any psychiatrist would be happy to have me on his or her couch, I’m sure!  But, seriously, I know that I do this.

I have decided, yet again, to lose 50 pounds.  This is my long-term weight loss goal, and I haven’t set a time limit on it because, in all honesty, I don’t know how long it will take.  To keep track of this hefty goal, I have employed a visual strategy that I found on Pinterest.  I’m trying to find the link because I apparently didn’t like or repin it, and as soon as I do, I’ll post it here.  The strategy is very simple, and it only cost me $3.00 at The Dollar Tree.  I took two vases and with sticker letters that I already had in my scrapbook supplies, I labeled each one.  One says, “Pounds to Lose,” and the other says, “Pounds Lost.”  I then put 50 glass marbles in the “Pounds to Lose” vase.  Each week when I weigh myself, I can then move the marbles to the “Pounds Lost” vase until it contains all 50 of them.  Sounds good to me.  I think the visual reminder will be helpful to me in the long run.

My visual motivation for my long-term goal.

It’s always important to set small goals along the way so that you can feel more in control and enjoy some success.  Having said that, my first short-term goal in regard to weight loss is 10 pounds.  I have other short-term goals, like the following:

  • taking the stairs, not the elevator, at school
  • actually exercising (I need a more detailed plan for this)
  • only weighing myself once a week (so I don’t drive myself crazy)

I know I can be successful.  I’ve lost 10 pounds before, and I’ve actually managed to keep them off.  I need to lose another 10, and then another, and another, until all 50 are gone.  So, I’m taking my cue from the tortoise.  I’m going to go slow.  I’m going to be consistent.  I’m going to believe in myself.  I’m going to listen to my cheerleaders (my friends and family and you!).  And I’m going to succeed.

One Response to “Getting Fit: Version 2012.1”

  1. jennifer hamilton March 11, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE that Stacy!!! I am going to totally steal that idea! It’s like the jars we have in our classrooms filled with marbles that was use as behavior rewards. It’s a nice visual to see how daunting the task is, but at the same time, how much you’ve done! Now, if I could just find 300 marbles….LOL!

Leave a Reply

