Molly’s Favorite Dog Cookies

3 Mar

Sometimes I think I take better care of my dog, Molly, than I do myself.  That may be normal for pet parents, though; after all, they are our kids, and we have to spoil someone.  Molly loves cookies, any kind really, but she really loves my homemade Peanut Butter Banana Cookies.  I found a recipe here, but I ended up changing it a little bit to fit my needs.

After looking at the sad, almost black bananas on my counter this afternoon, I decided that I would whip up a batch of these delicious treats.  The desire may have had something to do with having just returned from the vet’s office for a follow-up to Molly’s recent surgery.  But, that’s beside the point – to the kitchen I went!

Ingredients

I always have the ingredients for these cookies in the pantry because they are things that I eat on a regular basis.  Everything that goes into them is healthy, and I bet they actually taste pretty good.  The stigma of calling them dog cookies keeps me from testing them, but the way Molly gobbles them up is proof enough for me.  With the measurements below, I get about a dozen large cookies.  How many cookies you will yield depends on the size of the cookie cutter you use.  When measuring sticky ingredients like peanut butter and honey, spray your measuring utensil with PAM Spray.  The ingredient will slide right out.

This is what the dough will look like once you've mixed all the ingredients together.

Make sure to flour the dough as well as the surface your roll it onto since it’s a sticky dough.  Also flour your rolling-pin.  It definitely makes things easier.  Also spray your cookie cutter with PAM.  It won’t stick to the dough, and you’ll be able to get the cut cookie onto the sheet in one piece.

I used a butterfly cookie cutter that I picked up at The Christmas Tree Shoppe for $0.59.

These cookies don’t spread a lot on the pan, so they don’t need tons of room between them.  You can easily fit a dozen larger cookies on a sheet with no worries.

Ready for the oven.

Make sure to completely cool the cookies before giving them to your dog.  Hot foods and dogs’ tummies don’t mix well.

The finished cookies!

Ingredients:

1 egg

1/3 cup creamy peanut butter

1/2 cup mashed banana

1 Tbsp honey

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup old-fashioned oats

1 egg white, lightly beaten, for brushing

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C).
  2. Stir together egg, peanut butter, mashed banana, and honey.  Blend thoroughly.
  3. Stir in the flour and oats.  Mix well.
  4. Turn dough onto a floured board or counter top, and roll to 1/4 inch thickness.
  5. Cut with a cookie cutter.
  6. Place on a cookie sheet lines with wax or parchment paper.
  7. Brush the tops of the cookies with the egg white.
  8. Baked until dried and golden brown, approximately 25-30 minutes.
  9. Remove from the cookie sheet, and cool on a wire rack.
Leave a Reply

