Repurpose a Vitamin Bottle

4 Mar

In the school I currently teach at, I don’t have my own classroom.  This has been an extremely hard adjustment for me, but I do my best to forget all the cabinets and shelf space I once had to keep piles of books and supplies neatly at hand.  Now, I have to bring what seems like the world with me to each room I teach in – up to five different rooms a day.  Needless to say, it’s tiring and I forget and/or lose a lot of stuff.

One of the problems I’ve had is keeping my paper clips from littering the bottom of my canvas tote.  That’s where they always end up, and it drives me crazy.  I’ve tried keeping them in a zippered pouch, but they still manage to escape.  But yesterday, an idea came to me when I realized that I had finished my Omega-3 capsules.  The bottle had a handy flip-top.  Wouldn’t that be perfect for my paper clips!

Before

I peeled off the label and picked out a piece of scrapbook paper, one that had a pretty pattern on it, and measured it to the right size.  Using double-sided tape (and the sticky goo left on the bottle from the label), I wrapped the paper around it, giving the bottle a new life.  I made a little label, and voila!  A fabulously cool paper clip container for my bag!  I know this isn’t the biggest or most badass repurpose out there, but it fit a need, and I’m a happy girl.

After

The more I thought about it, the more ideas I came up with for flip-top vitamin bottles.  They would be great places to store sequins, beads, other office supplies like erasers, rubber bands, or magnets.  What ideas do you have?

One Response to “Repurpose a Vitamin Bottle”

  1. Nancy May 14, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

    Thanks for the Marzano stems. They might help me with my unannounced observation. Just having something like that on hand is a great way to be sure to hit on more components of the APPR<

Leave a Reply

