Crock Pot Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal

5 Mar

I love cinnamon raisin bread.  And I’ve found a way to make oatmeal in the Crock Pot that tastes just like it.  Yes.  You read that correctly – oatmeal in the Crock Pot.  I was leery at first, but I figured there wasn’t much to lose by trying.  On Pinterest, I found a recipe for apple oatmeal made in a slow cooker.  I checked out the recipe, and thought that it sounded pretty good.  There were a few changes I wanted to make, like omitting the butter and salt, cutting back on the sugar, and adding some raisins.  I had all the ingredients I needed on hand, so last night, I mixed up a batch.

Ingredients

Imagine, putting all the ingredients for breakfast in the Crock Pot and waking up to something that smelled like warm cinnamon raisin bread.  Well, that’s exactly what happened.  Yes, there are apples in this oatmeal, but they get so soft and sweet that they just add another layer of heaven to the cinnamon and raisin heaven.  Feel free to leave the apples and/or the walnuts out of the recipe; it would still taste just as good.  I left them in for the extra fiber, protein, and “good” fat.  I should note that I used a 2-quart Crock Pot for this recipe; it was the perfect size.

Yummy!

Adding less honey and sugar didn’t alter the taste one bit; it was still sweet without being too much.  One thing I would change is the time I let the oatmeal cook for.  I put it on low when I went to bed, and by the time I got this morning, the oatmeal had been cooking for a solid eight hours.  Too long.  I don’t think it should cook more than the 5-6 hours stated in the original recipe.  It didn’t taste bad at all, in fact it was still quite delicious.  But, to be honest, the bottom did stick to the pot and get a little crunchy.

INGREDIENTS:

2 cups milk (I used fat-free)

1 Tbsp honey

1 tsp cinnamon

1 Tbsp brown sugar

1 cup old-fashioned oats

1 cup chopped apple (I left the peel on)

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1/2 cup raisins

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Spray the Crock pot with Pam Cooking Spray.
  2. Add all the ingredients and mix together.
  3. Cook on LOW for 5-6 hours (overnight was too much)
  4. ENJOY!
Leave a Reply

