Fibro Fog Strikes Again!

8 Mar

About two years ago, I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia.  It’s not an illness that much is known about, nor is it one that people who don’t have it understand.  I get that.  It’s not something you can see or even in most cases imagine.  Being constantly tired and in pain – well doesn’t everyone feel like that sometimes?  I guess the answer is yes.  But, fibromyalgia has a host of other symptoms that make everyday living more difficult.

One of those side effects is fibro fog.  Sure, we’ve all had “senior moments” before when we forget why we walked into a room, or where we left the car keys.  But this fog takes your normal forgetfulness to a whole other level.  You can forget words, which happens to me frequently.  I’ll be standing in front of my students, answering questions or telling them a cool story about something or someone we’re reading about, and all of a sudden, I forget the simplest words.  It’s like they’ve slipped through my memory, and gotten lost at sea.  Maybe the sirens lured them away or something.  It’s hard to not be able to hold a conversation with someone, even when you want to.  I can look at a kid, hear everything he’s said, and have no idea what just happened.

Yesterday, a girl had to leave the classroom for a few minutes.  She came back in.  We had a conversation, I even used her shoulder to help me get down from the stage I was on.  Five minutes later, I looked up and asked her when she got back.  I couldn’t remember.

This morning, instead of taking my “morning” pill, I took the pill that helps me sleep.  It was an interesting commute to school, for sure.  I usually never mix these pills up; they’re in different containers and everything.

Sometimes I wish that I could chalk these moments up to getting older, or just a senior moment, but I know they are different.  I never want to sound like I’m complaining, or make people feel like I’m worse off than them because I have fibromyalgia, but it does have a negative effect on my life, and this daily battle is one that will never end.  The only thing I can do is try to control my symptoms, and I struggle with that some days.  And these are just some of those days.

2 Responses to “Fibro Fog Strikes Again!”

  1. workingonthemindbodyandspirit March 8, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

    Hi Thirty-Something! I also have fibromyalgia, so I can absolutely understand what your saying about the fog. Wait a minute… I forgot what I was talking about…just kidding. No seriously, it is so hard to find people to understand. I’m 23 and have trouble remembering people’s names. Thank you for your post! More people need to know about this condition.
    ~ Gina

    • stacy1220 March 8, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

      Thank you so much for your comment! This week has been especially foggy; it’s driving me crazy! Half the time, okay more than half, my own family doesn’t understand what’s really going on with me and my FMS. It’s such a difficult idea for those who don’t suffer from it to understand. I plan on writing about my journey with FMS and how I’m dealing with and managing it. Stay tuned for more! ~Stacy

Leave a Reply

