Crock Pot Barbecue Shredded Chicken

10 Mar

I have officially become obsessed with slow cookers.  Sure, I would pull my 5-quart Crock Pot out of the closet every few months to make something, but lately I find myself using it more and more.  That’s cool with me.  On Fridays, I get out of school earlier three hours early (the normal end to my school day is 4:30pm), so I decided to use my slow cooker to make some dinner.  I found this recipe for Crock Pot Barbecue Chicken on Pinterest, and decided to use it as a starting point for my own. I didn’t like the idea of using garlic salt or vinegar, so I definitely wanted to change that.

I stopped at Target to pick up some household items that I had run out of, and ended up buying a package of frozen Tyson Grilled Chicken Breasts.  I don’t normally buy chicken like that, well, actually, I NEVER buy chicken like that; however, there was a sale going on, and I got a steam bag of vegetables free with my purchase.  I will never turn down free veggies.

Ingredients (plus some water)

I also picked up a new Crock Pot at Target – a 3-quart Hamilton Beach that was on sale for $10.00.  I couldn’t say no.  Yes, I know I have a problem.  But that’s a discussion for another day.

This was so simple to put together.  I just put all the ingredients in the Crock Pot – frozen chicken and all – and let it cook on high for 3-4 hours.  That’s it.  One tip:  I used a 1/4 cup of water in this, but instead of just pouring it into the pot, I poured it into the barbecue sauce bottle to get every last bit of deliciousness out.  Perfect.

Once the chicken had cooked for hours, I took two forks and shredded it.  So simple.  I had picked up some whole wheat tortilla shells at Target, so I think I might make barbecue chicken wraps for lunch today.  Throw in some lettuce, shredded cheddar cheese, maybe a little bacon if I dare.  Sounds pretty yummy if you ask me!

Shredded, barbeque deliciousness!!!

 

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp chopped garlic

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

1/4 c light brown sugar

1/4 c water

18 oz. bottle of barbecue sauce (I used Sweet Baby Ray’s)

5-6 chicken breasts

 

Directions:

  1. Put all the ingredients in the slow cooker, starting with the chicken.  You can use fresh or frozen chicken.
  2. Cook on high for 3-4 or on low for 5-6.
  3. Once the chicken breasts are tender, shred them with two forks.  (I shredded mine right in the slow cooker, but you could remove the chicken and shred it if you’d like.)
  4. Stir and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

