Parmigiano Encrusted Pork Chops

13 Mar

My boyfriend loves pork chops. I don’t really eat them.  Ever.  The other day, he took some out of the freezer and left them in the refrigerator.  When I asked him about them, he said he would cook them, or if I wanted to make them, I should feel free to do so.  Well, thanks very much!  Hahaha.  I made Parmesan encrusted pork chops for him, and he devoured them all!

The Conveyor Belt Method

This is how I make my chicken cutlets for chicken Parmigiano, so I figured what the heck.  I’ll give it a go.  One thing that’s super important to do is season everything!  I mix a little salt and pepper into the flour, and some pepper into the egg.  The breadcrumbs are already seasoned, so I just make sure to mix in the grated Parmigiano Reggiano well.  Coat the pork chop (or chicken cutlet) in the flour first, making sure to shake off any excess flour.

First, coat the chop in seasoned flour.

Dip it into the egg.  Make sure to get the meat really wet so that the breadcrumbs have something to hold on to.

Next, dip the chop in egg.

Coat the meat with the bread crumbs and cheese mixture.  Now you’re ready to cook!

Finally, coat the chop in a mixture of seasoned bread crumbs and grated Parmesan.

Heat some extra virgin olive oil in a skillet.  You want the oil to be hot so that you get a crisp crust on the meat.  Remember not to overcrowd the pan.  When you overcrowd the pan, you lower the heat.  Then the meat won’t get crispy; just kind of soggy.  These pork chops were on the thinner side; I had three really thick chops that I cut in half, giving me six.  I cooked them for about 4-5 minutes per side.

Don't overcrowd the pan.

And the finale…  Nice and crispy, still juicy and tender.  The boyfriend loved them and you will too!

Yummy!

Remember that you can do this with chicken, or even veal (if you eat that), cutlets.  Delish!

Ingredients:

6 pork chops

1/2-1 c all-purpose flour (seasoned with a pinch of salt and pepper)

2 eggs, beaten (seasoned with pepper)

1/2 c grated Parmigiano Reggiano cheese (or pecorino romano)

1/2 c seasoned Italian breadcrumbs

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Directions:

  1. Coat the pork chops in the flour, then egg, and then bread crumbs/cheese mixture, making sure to shake off any excess.
  2. Heat the olive oil in a skillet, about medium heat.
  3. Add the pork chops, making sure not to crowd the pan.
  4. Cook for 4-5 minutes on each side, until there is a nice, golden brown crust.
  5. Enjoy!
2 Responses to “Parmigiano Encrusted Pork Chops”

  1. King Knobhead March 14, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    I love how he sort of “offered” them to you so you could fix ’em up. That man rules!

    • stacy1220 March 14, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

      Hahaha… he’s got a way about him, for sure.

Leave a Reply

