Broccoli and Sausage Stuffed Bread

14 Mar

Stuffed breads are super easy to make and you can put whatever you’d like in them.  I had bought a huge package of sausage from Costco a few weeks ago, and I still had some left, so I decided to make a sausage and broccoli stuffed bread. I always have bags of broccoli florets in the freezer and shredded mozzarella in the refrigerator, so the only thing I had to pick up at the market was some pizza dough.

Ingredients

Remember, that you can put almost anything in a stuffed bread.  This is a great way to use up veggies and leftover meats at the end of a week.

You can layer the ingredients on the short side like this, or the long side if you'd like smaller slices.

I decided to layer my ingredients on the short side of the dough rather than the long side.  I don’t know why; I just did.  If you’re making this for a party or if you’re feeding more than just two people, I suggest layering the ingredients on the longer side.  You’ll get more slices out of it that way.  I didn’t use all of the sausage or broccoli in the picture above.  This is one of those recipes that you kind of just eyeball how much stuff you put in.  You can a little or a lot of whatever ingredients you use; it all depends on your taste.

Ready for the oven!

Make sure to brush the top with and egg wash so that it gets toasty and brown.  I always add slits to the top for two reasons:  1) it looks prettier, and 2) it lets the steam out so the dough doesn’t stay soft and goopey.

Ready to eat!

I made this last night, and when my boyfriend came home after a long day of work and school, he ate it.  All of it.  He said it was really good, and offered me a suggestion – put pepperoni in it next time.  Hahaha… Maybe I should make two next time so I can actually eat some of it!

Ingredients:

1 tube of pizza dough (or 1 portion of your favorite dough)

1-2 cups of cooked sausage

1-2 cups of broccoli (cooked if frozen)

1 cup shredded mozzarella

1 egg, beaten

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Cook the sausage in a little olive oil until browned and fully cooked.  While you’re doing this, cook the broccoli in the microwave according to package directions unless using fresh broccoli.  Then you don’t have to do anything to it.
  3. Line a baking sheet with a piece of tin foil and spray it with Pam (so the dough doesn’t stick).
  4. Unroll the dough onto the pan.
  5. Put down the cheese first, making sure to keep it on one side.
  6. Then add the broccoli and sausage.  Use your eye; when it looks like there’s enough on there for your taste, don’t add any more.
  7. Fold the dough over the ingredients.  Make sure to crimp and/or fold the edges so the ingredients don’t seep out while cooking.
  8. Brush the top with the beaten egg (so it gets golden brown). Then cut a few slits on the top so the steam can escape.
  9. Cook until the dough is firm and golden brown, about 20-25 minutes.
2 Responses to “Broccoli and Sausage Stuffed Bread”

  1. Jereme's Kitchen March 14, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    that looks tasty!

    • stacy1220 March 14, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

      Super easy and super tasty! I hope you give it a try and let me know how you liked it!!!

Leave a Reply

