Pay to Lose: Another Motivational Strategy

15 Mar

So, I’m trying to make exercise a priority in my life, but that’s what’s getting in my way:  life.  There’s always something that I deem more important – papers to grade, a dog in recovery, keeping a house, etc.  Life.  But what I really need to understand with my whole being is that I AM IMPORTANT ENOUGH TO BE A PRIORITY.  This should be my daily mantra.  Say it with me:  I am important enough to be a priority.

If I don’t take care of myself, who will?

I’m going strong with my health journal; I haven’t missed a day of input yet.  I’m eating as healthy as I can, taking minor set-backs in stride, and taking my vitamins.  I’ve got my “Pounds to Lose” and “Pounds Lost” jars.  And here’s the next motivational strategy I’m planning to employ:  the “Pay to Lose” container.

Pay yourself to get healthy!

Let’s be honest, most of us probably put ourselves last on the list of priorities, and our health may suffer for it.  I thought that if I paid myself for exercising as if it was a job, I might make more of an effort.  And the idea of saving cash is one that appeals to me for a number of reasons:  1) I want to prove to myself that I actually CAN save money, and 2) I can buy a new outfit or some other kind of reward with what I save for my efforts.

For this motivating craft, I took an empty bread crumbs container and covered it with scrapbook paper.  Double-sided tape is quickly becoming my new best friend.  The glittery ribbon is there, well, because I’m a girly girl and I LOVE anything glitter.   I gave the activities that I’m most likely to do monetary values.  I gave yoga and the DVD a $2.00 value because I have a collection of 20 minute workouts for each.  The walk/run and circuit got a $3.00 value because I usually do those activities for 30 minutes.  And I gave the Wii Fit a $1.00 value because that’s what I do the least, but I really like the boxing!

So, that’s the deal with this tip.  If you like it, let me know, or give me your own tips!

5 Responses to “Pay to Lose: Another Motivational Strategy”

  1. bornattwentyfive March 15, 2012 at 6:43 am #

    What a brilliant idea to stay motivated!

    • stacy1220 March 15, 2012 at 6:55 am #

      Thanks so much! I’m hoping it will inspire me – and others – to get moving!

  2. Robert March 15, 2012 at 10:52 am #

    Reblogged this on Trying Too Hard: A Blog and commented:
    My friend Stacy has a great idea to help motivate yourself to exercise: pay yourself to do it. Kills “two birds with one stone:” not only are you exercising, but you are putting money aside for new clothes or other things you might need once you start losing some weight. It’s like you reward yourself twice!

  3. Holly March 21, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

    This is a great idea. I am having a hard time being motivated to go to the gym lately, and I love going to the gym. I may start this tomorrow and see if it helps.

    • stacy1220 March 22, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

      Hi Holly! I hope this idea will help you get back to the gym. You might want to put a picture of your reward on the container as well. Good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

