Vanilla Peach Cupcakes

19 Mar

Spring is coming, and what better way to welcome it than with cupcakes.  And peaches.  And vanilla.  Oh my.  I was at the market with my mother, and we were talking recipes:  How would she make pork chops for dinner?  What would I do with all the strawberries I had just purchased?  Somehow we ended up wandering down the baking aisle.  I can’t really remember why, but I am positive that when we stopped at the pie fillings, I decided to make filled cupcakes.  I wanted to keep them light and forego the frosting, so I decided to make an icing to top the cupcakes.

Ingredients

When I make cupcakes, I always substitute un-sweetened apple sauce for the oil.  It has less fat, tastes delicious, and keeps the cake super-moist.

Fill half way

Mix the batter according to the package.  You can use the oil if you’d like, or give the apple sauce a try.  I usually use around 1/3 cup.

Add the pie filling of your choice

Once you’ve mixed the batter and filled the liners half way, drop in a teaspoon of your favorite pie filling.  I used peach.  Since the slices of peach in the filling were big, I cut them into smaller, more bite-sized pieces.

Fill the rest of the way

Fill the liners up to the top.  You’ll get an even dozen of cupcakes this way.

Let the cupcakes cool before you glaze them!

Bake the cupcakes according to the package, around 20-25 minutes.  A toothpick will come out clean.  Make sure to let the cupcakes cool completely before glazing them.  This is where I lack patience, but I tried really, really hard this time to wait.

Glazed and ready to eat

The glaze is super easy to make.  Two cups of confectioners sugar, 1/2-1 teaspoon of vanilla, and 3 tablespoons of water, milk, or fruit juice.  I used water because I decided at the last minute to add some of the pie filling to the glaze.  Because I introduced more liquid to the glaze, I ended up adding another 1/4 c of sugar so that the glaze would be thicker.  This glaze is awesome and can be used on cinnamon buns, waffles, pancakes, french toast… the list goes on.

Dig in!

On the outside, you have a delicious vanilla cupcake, while on the inside, there’s a surprising burst of peaches.  Mix it up and try this method with all sorts of fruit fillings!

Ingredients:

For cupcakes:

1 box vanilla cake mix

1 cup water

1/3 c un-sweetened apple sauce

3 eggs

1 can peach pie filling, larger pieces cut

For the glaze:

2 c confectioner’s sugar

1/2-1 tsp pure vanilla extract

3 tbsp water

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Prepare the cake as directed on the box, substituting the apple sauce for the oil if desired.
  3. Fill the cupcake liners half way, drop a tsp of pie filling in, and then fill the liner the rest of the way.
  4. Cook for about 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  5. Let the cupcakes cool completely before glazing.
  6. While the cupcakes cool, prepare the glaze by mixing all the ingredients in a bowl.
  7. Spoon the glaze over the cooled cupcakes.  It will spread and drip down the sides.  That’s okay!
  8. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

