Strawberry Walnut Pinwheels

21 Mar

I was browsing through a bunch of old magazine that I had cluttering up my living room, and came across this recipe for raspberry pecan pinwheels.  The picture made my mouth water.  They looked sweet and delicious and I wanted them.  I checked out my pantry, and found that I had a jar of strawberry preserves and there were walnuts in the refrigerator.  I always keep my nuts cold because it stops the oils from turning the nuts rancid.  I think I learned that trick from the Food Network.

Ingredients

Simple ingredients.  I like being able to make something quick and delicious with only a few ingredients.  I think it makes me feel a sorceress or maybe a super-heroine who can make something wonderful out of what seems like nothing.  I am Super Stacy!

Mix the sugar and the cinnamon on a clean surface.

Spread the sugar and cinnamon on a clean surface.  When you roll out the door over the mixture, the sugar and cinnamon will stick to the dough.  Don’t be alarmed if all of it doesn’t stick to the dough.  You can use whatever is left on the board for the next piece of dough.

Roll out the dough, spread the preserves over it, and then sprinkle the nuts over the dough.

You can use whatever jam, preserves, or marmalade you have on hand.  Play with combinations of fruit and nuts.  I think these would be fantastic with the raspberry and pecans that the original recipe used, or maybe a peach jam and pecans.  So many possibilities!

Roll up the dough as tightly as you can.

Roll up the dough as if you were making a burrito.  You want to roll it as tightly as possible so everything sticks together.  Once you’ve got your log, trim off the edges, and cut it into about 1-inch pieces.  You should be able to get one dozen pinwheels from one piece of dough.

Cut them about one inch thick, and place them on a lined cookie sheet.

I decided to use the second sheet of dough to make lemon pinwheels.  I had a jar of lemon marmalade in the cupboard, and I love lemon.  It’s so clean and bright and just delicious.  I definitely was the kid who sucked on lemon wedges.  I used the same method as the strawberry pinwheels, except I omitted the cinnamon and the nuts.

I left out the nuts on this one.

And the final product…

Delicious and easy to make!

These are really quite tasty.  These would make a great addition to a brunch spread or even a holiday meal.  Heck, they are so simple to make that they could be dessert any night of the week!  I bet if you brought these to a party, your friends would think you a miracle worker and beg for the recipe.

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp granulated sugar

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1 refrigerated pie crust

1/2-3/4 cup strawberry jam or preserves

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  3. Sprinkle a clean work surface (counter or cutting board) with the sugar and cinnamon.  Unroll the pie crust onto the sugar mixture, and press it down so the sugar adheres to the dough.
  4. Spread the preserves evenly over the dough, and then sprinkle the nuts evenly over it.
  5. Starting at one end, tightly roll the dough into a log.
  6. Trim the ends of the log.  Then cut it into 1-inch thick slices.
  7. Stand them up (sugared side down) on the prepared baking sheet about two inches apart.
  8. Bake until golden brown, about 20-25 minutes.
  9. Transfer to baking rack to cool completely.
  10. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

