One Month Later…

23 Mar

Well, today was my week four weigh in, and I neither gained nor lost a pound.  And as I reflect on my health journal, I’m quite frankly surprised.  With all the Girl Scout cookies I’ve shoved in my face this week, I would have bet money that the number on the scale would have risen.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m thrilled that it didn’t, but I was expecting the worst.

This week tossed a number of balls into my court, and I’m not the best juggler.  I’ve already written about the evil Girl Scout Cookies (they are still on my counter, mocking me, peer pressuring me into eating them).  So here’s a new one for you all:  Doggie Physical Therapy.

Yes.  You read that correctly.  I may have mentioned, in a previous post, my love affair with a certain dog named Molly.  I may have also mentioned that Molly had hip surgery last month.  Well, last night was our first physical therapy appointment.  Mols has been having some trouble with her recuperation; she will walk, but gingerly and her toes curl under when she limps.  Her surgeon suggested we try some PT, and so, being the dog mom that I am, we are.

Molly didn’t like the stretches and exercises the therapist tried, but she loved the swimming.  It was the cutest thing to see – Molly in her life vest swimming laps as the therapist hung on.  And there I was on the side of the pool, cheering my kid on.  We were both exhausted by the time we got home last night, but I wasn’t prepared for my pain to wake up at 3am.  I was near tears, and ended up “sleeping” with a heating pad on my back.  I didn’t get much rest though.  And now, as I type this, I’m cringing with each breath and I can feel every muscle tightening up.

After visiting my own doctor yesterday, we decided that it was time for me to get back to water therapy as a part of my pain management.  So, Molly and I both will be hitting the swim lanes.  Now if only I can convince my local Y to let her swim with me…

One Response to “One Month Later…”

  1. bornattwentyfive March 26, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    Girls scout cookies will be the death of me! Good luck with therapy for you and Molly!

Leave a Reply

