Strawberry Scones with Honey Butter

27 Mar

I’ve never made scones before today, I swear.  I have what seems like a ton of strawberries in the refrigerator after visiting Costco last week, and I’m trying to use them as creatively as possible.  Here comes the scones.  This recipe has four ingredients.  Yes.  Four.  Super simple, and the boyfriend assured me that they are super good.

Only four ingredients!

Now, you might be wondering about the Waist Watchers soda.  Well, when I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia, I immediately gave up caffeine, aspartame, and as much sugar as I possibly could.  I never drank a lot of soda to begin with, but I always like to keep a bottle of ginger ale on hand for unfortunate stomach upsets and other sick moments.  The Waist Watchers brand has no caffeine and is sweetened with Splenda, not aspartame, so it’s the only soda I really allow myself to drink.  You can use Sprite or 7-Up instead.

This is about a cup of diced strawberries.

Make sure to dice the strawberries up into tiny pieces, that way you’ll get a burst of strawberry sweetness in every bite.  Here’s a tip:  if your strawberries aren’t as ripe as you’d like, sprinkle them with a little sugar.  The natural juices of the berries will come out and they’ll sweeten right up.  But then again, don’t feel like you have to use strawberries.  If you’ve got some blueberries hanging around, throw them in.  Or even dried fruits would work.  The possibilities are endless!

Make a well in the center of the bowl for the wet ingredients.

Mix everything together, making sure not to over mix the dough.

I was out of parchment paper, so I lined my baking sheets with aluminum foil and sprayed it with Pam.  Worked just as well.  Here’s another tip:  use an ice cream scoop to get even amounts of dough.  Doing it that way, got me 11 scones that were all equal in size.

Drop spoonfuls of dough onto a prepared baking sheet.

Ready to eat!

I had my boyfriend taste the scones at this point, and he said they were good.  When I prodded him to tell me the truth, assuring him that it wouldn’t hurt my feelings, he told me that if he ate another one, he would add butter to it.  This got me thinking.  These scones aren’t super sweet, and they needed…something.  I took the bottle of honey out of the cupboard and drizzled a little onto a piece of scone.  Delicious.  What if I combined the boyfriend’s idea of butter with the sweetness of honey?  Instantly I decided to make honey butter.

Only two ingredients!

Room temperature butter is best for this, but if you have a stick in the refrigerator, just pop it into the microwave for about 20 seconds and it’ll be fine.

So simple!

I squeezed a couple of tablespoons of honey into the softened butter and mixed it together.  Couldn’t be easier.  This is a great trick to have in your apron.  Use the honey butter on cooked vegetables, toast, muffins, etc.  It’s really that good.  And once I had the boyfriend try a warm scone with melty honey butter, he was sold.

The final product.

Ingredients:

3 cups self-rising flour

3/4 cup + 1 tbsp lemon-lime soda

3/4 cup + 1 tbsp heavy cream

1 cup diced strawberries

Sugar, for sprinkling (if desired)

Directions:

  1. Heat the oven to 400 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (or foil and Pam spray works too).
  2. Place the flour in a large bowl and make a well in the center for the wet ingredients.
  3. Pour in the soda and heavy cream.  Use a fork to gently stir in the wet ingredients.
  4. Once the dough is mixed together, fold in the diced strawberries.
  5. With an ice cream scooper (or a large spoon), drop dough onto the prepared baking sheets.
  6. Sprinkle with sugar, and bake until golden brown, about 20 minutes.
  7. Serve warm with the honey butter.
  8. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

