Slightly Obsessed with Shoes

28 Mar

I have a problem.  I buy shoes.  It’s more than a guilty pleasure; it’s more of an obsession.  I remember living with my parents, and keeping shoe boxes in the trunk of my car because I didn’t want them to see me carry in a new pair each week.  There were times when I would come home with four or five new pairs of shoes a week.  But, in these lean economic times, I find myself being more picky about the shoes that make it home with me.

The other day I was bored.  And when I’m bored, I shop.  I still had some money left on a Kohl’s gift card from Christmas, so I decided to take a trip to the store.  I tried on some clothes, even fitting into a pair of Vera Wang skinny ankle jeans in a size smaller than I’m currently wearing!  I had the jeans in my hands, ready to bring them home when I thought about what would, or could, happen.  The jeans would come home with me, I’d wear them a few times, and my current fight to get fit would make them too small in a month.  And then they would be worthless.  Well, I would be excited that they didn’t fit, but I’d be sad that I wouldn’t get to wear them longer.

My solution?  Accessories.  These would not become too big or too small, and I’d be able to wear them forever!  I wandered over to the shoe department and found these:

Coral. Get behind this color.

I grabbed a 7.5 off the shelf, put them, and instantly fell in love.  Super comfortable and ready for summer, I pictured the white dress I have hanging in my closet and how adorable these shoes would look with it.  I checked the price tag and realized that they were on sale – $35.00.  There was no reason that they couldn’t come home with me.  Besides the white dress, I might have a plan for these beauties that involves a contract and the possibility of me having to return them if I don’t uphold my end of the bargain.  Last year, I made a sort of bet with my best friend after purchasing a really cute pair of summer wedges.  I gave myself five weeks to lose 10 pounds or the shoes had to go back.  She held them hostage for me.  Every day I had to text her my workout, and if she didn’t hear from me, she called.  Each week I sent a picture of the scale as I weighed in.  And on that last weigh in of week five, I had done it.  I lost the 10 pounds, and I got my shoes back.  Since it was successful in the past, I figured I would give it another go.  And believe me, I WANT these shoes.  Those 10 pounds are gone!

2 Responses to “Slightly Obsessed with Shoes”

  1. bornattwentyfive March 28, 2012 at 8:17 am #

    That’s an awesome way to lose weight! I’m going to try that as well. Also if you have an iphone, you should download this free app called Snapette. Its an app dedicated to the latest shoes and accessories. People post a ton of different shoes a day. I always check it before I go shoe shopping. The only downside is that now that I’m living back in FL for a little bit and not in NYC its really hard to find the shoes.

    Let me know how you like it!

    • stacy1220 March 28, 2012 at 8:21 am #

      I don’t have an iphone…yet! I’m eligible for an upgrade in June, and I think I’m taking the iphone plunge. But that app sounds amazing! I bought a big floppy hat on the same shopping adventure that I’m totally excited about. And I did end up buying a pair of jeans in a smaller size; I was totally psyched! (and they’re ankle-length and look super-cute with the shoes!)

Leave a Reply

