Stacy’s Ragu Sauce

3 Apr

I got home late Monday night, and was starving when I walked through the door.  Once Miss Molly was taken care of (she gets taken out and gets dinner before anyone else), I opened the refrigerator and stared at its contents.  I used to do this when I was little and I didn’t know what I wanted to eat.  I would stare and stare, hoping that something would catch my eye, or that something I had been thinking of would miraculously appear.  My mom was never happy with my keeping the door open, but that never stopped me.

I saw a zucchini, a red bell pepper, some ground turkey, and some homemade sauce.  There was on onion and some garlic on the counter.  A can of cannellini beans and box of pasta in the pantry.  Dinner = a ragu.  Another selling point to this sauce is that it doesn’t take an awful lot of time to put together.  Quick and easy and always delicious!

Usually a ragu has ground meat, carrots, onions, celery, tomatoes, white wine and seasonings.  My ragu is a little different.  Part of growing up in the kitchen is that you experiment.  Frequently.  I have a tendency to just throw things in a pot and see what happens.  Sometimes it works; sometimes it doesn’t.  But this is something that always works.  Vegetables, protein, sauce.  Pick any combination you’d like, and I guarantee it will be yummy.

Veggies and beans

You can keep this meal totally vegetarian by foregoing the ground turkey.  The beans will give you an excellent source of protein.  Or, you could even add tofu if that’s your thing.  Remember to season everything!  I used crushed red pepper flakes, a little sea salt, some ground black pepper, and a little Italian seasonings mix.

Veggies, beans, and turkey

If ground turkey isn’t something you like, or maybe you don’t keep any on hand, use any ground meat you have.  Ground beef, pork, veal, chicken would all work.

Veggies, beans, turkey, and sauce

If you don’t have jars of homemade sauce waiting to be used, a jar of your favorite go-to sauce will work too.  You can also use whatever pasta you have in the pantry; it can be your favorite shape, but I like to use a thin spaghetti with this sauce.

Dinner is served

Ingredients:

1 zucchini, cut into half-moons

1 red bell pepper, sliced thin

1/2 large onion, sliced thin

1 tbsp garlic

1 can cannellini beans

1 package ground turkey

1 jar tomato sauce, or 24 oz. of your own

1 box thin spaghetti or your favorite shape

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Directions:

  1. Put a large pot of water on the stove to boil for the pasta.  While waiting for the water to boil, make the sauce.
  2. Cook the ground turkey in a little olive oil, drain off any fat, and remove from pan.
  3. Add a little more olive oil to the pan and add the vegetables and garlic.  Season, and saute for about five minutes.  Add beans and cooked turkey.  Cook together for a few minutes.  Add sauce and cover.  Simmer until the pasta is ready.
  4. Cook the pasta as directed, making sure to season the water with salt.
  5. Drain the pasta and top with sauce.
  6. Enjoy!
2 Responses to “Stacy’s Ragu Sauce”

  1. Karen April 3, 2012 at 7:54 am #

    Your ragu sounds great and is a healthy dish as well.

    • stacy1220 April 3, 2012 at 8:16 am #

      Thanks so much! I hope you try it and love it as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

