Staying Motivated: Setting Goals and Reflecting

15 Apr

Ok.  The Easter Bunny threw me under the bus.  Maybe I followed the trail of jelly beans and peanut butter filled eggs willingly, but needless to say, this week was not the best when it came to self-control.  The candy won.  I definitely proved to myself that I am, indeed, a stress eater.  There was a lot of extra stress this past week, like the screaming three-year-old in the pool while I was doing my water therapy.  Molly had a hard week with her recovery; she seemed to not want to use her leg at all, and the doctor proposed the possibility of another surgery.  No, thank you.  And at school, it was the week before vacation which meant all the kids (and the teachers) were anxious and ready to go.  Not to mention an idea was proposed to me for next year that I have had nightmares about in the past.  That’s where the chocolate and sugar came in.

Having this upcoming week off from school fills me with calm.  I know that I can make smarter food choices (like foregoing the sugar), and get in some extra walking and strength activities.  I made this chart to help me stay focused:

Motivational Goal Setting:Reflecting Sheet

Please feel free to use it and adapt it to your own needs.  I’m hoping seeing this on the refrigerator each day will help keep me focused this week.  Have a great week and stay motivated!

4 Responses to “Staying Motivated: Setting Goals and Reflecting”

  1. laurabantz79 April 15, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    The Easter Bunny got me, too, and I’m not even on a weight loss journey…..yet! I like your voice, and as a fellow thirty-somethinger, I look forward to seeing you achieve your desired goals! Good luck!

    • stacy1220 April 15, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

      Thanks so much for the kind words!

  2. Moments With Marcy April 16, 2012 at 8:16 am #

    I had the Easter Bunny and my birthday to throw me off the wagon this past week. Yes, back to healthier eating! 🙂 So nice to know Im not alone!

    • stacy1220 April 16, 2012 at 8:54 am #

      Life seems to throw curve-balls at us all the time! There’s always some obstacle we need to overcome. Hope you had a happy birthday; I firmly believe any calories eaten or any actions taken on a birthday don’t really count. 🙂

Leave a Reply

