Clean Out the Fridge Hash

16 Apr

I came home from doing laundry at my mom’s house yesterday, and had no idea what to have for lunch.  I did what most of us do, look into the depths of the fridge only to decide there is nothing to eat.  Mind you, the fridge is pretty full, but it’s still empty in my mind.  In my effort to eat healthy meals and not waste as much money at the market, I decided to see what leftovers I had hiding in the bins and behind the gallon of milk.

I came up with a green pepper that was beginning to wrinkle, a zucchini, an onion, a handful of potatoes, and the last of the Easter ham.  There were three eggs left in the carton, so a hash it is!

First thing to do:  clean up and dice the potatoes.  I cut them relatively small so that they would cook faster.  Put your potatoes in the pot first, and then add cold water to them.  Fill the pot slightly higher than the potatoes themselves.  Throw on a lid, and boil away!  You want them to be a little bit beyond fork tender, so when you bite into them, the aren’t hard as rocks.  Stick a fork in one, and if it slides off the chances of the potatoes being ready are good.

While the potatoes boiled, I sliced up my veggies, put them in a pan with some extra virgin olive oil, and let them cook.  A little salt and pepper is all you need for these to taste delicious.  Now, you could even add the veggie mixture to pasta sauce and make that a meal.  They would even taste great with a piece of grilled chicken or steak (I guess).  Endless possibilities.  I ended up adding the ham at this stage, but remember, you can add or take out any ingredients you’d like.

Once the potatoes are ready, drain them and add them to the skillet with the veggies and ham.  Let them mingle and get acquainted with each other.  I ended up cooking my eggs separately, but there’s no reason why you couldn’t add your eggs to the mixture on the stove.  Here’s a recipe for a baked hash that I made a while back.  I threw a little cheddar cheese in with the eggs for a little something extra.

This was a great way to use up some veggies on the verge of going bad, and not wasting anything else in the refrigerator.  Great Sunday breakfast or brunch.  It doesn’t take a whole lot of time, and it definitely doesn’t break the bank.  I’m not writing a recipe for this one because there really isn’t one.  Use what you have on hand, and chances are that you’ll get a great meal out of it like I did.  Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Clean Out the Fridge Hash”

  1. bornattwentyfive April 17, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    This is such a brilliant idea!

Leave a Reply

