Adventures in Wreath Making

25 Apr

All over Pinterest, there are cute posts about homemade wreaths.  Wreaths with ribbons and felt flowers and those cute little paper umbrellas that are always a part of festive – and fruity – cocktails.  I’ve been collecting images and ideas, but had never done anything with them until now.

Last week, made a trip to the dollar store.  It is fast becoming one of my favorite places to pick up cute items for crafting.  I think the cashiers are starting to recognize me, too.  I guess it could be worse.  I wandered up and down the aisles, ooooh-ing and aaaaah-ing at everything I saw.  Those popsicle sticks?  I bet I could do something cute with that.  Those glass marbles?  I definitely need those for something.  Well, everything I needed to make my own wreath was there, so I figured I would give it the old college try.  I mean, why not?

I picked up a form, some ribbon, and a package of butterflies accents.  The only problem was, I didn’t envision the final product with the things I picked out.

Boy, was I in for a surprise.  The form I picked out was thin and made of wood or branches or something.  The ribbon wasn’t – and didn’t – lay flat on it.  And as for the ribbon, I picked out sheer ribbon in super light colors.  I picked white and yellow thinking that it would match with the yellow butterflies and that it would stand out more than it actually did.  Oh, and sheer ribbon doesn’t hide a thing.

I ended up wrapping the form in the yellow ribbon first.  There I was, sitting at the kitchen table with my handy-dandy dollar store glue gun (Oh, yes I did), wrapping ribbon around this sickly wreath form as tightly as I possibly could.  It didn’t look that great, but I figured I would wrap the white ribbon around it next, and that maybe the second layer of ribbon would miraculously change my thin and pale wreath into something thick and fancy.

Well, the second layer of ribbon helped, but it wasn’t the fix I was looking for.  I left it though because the sheen from the sheer ribbon was pretty.  I hot-glued the butterflies on, and for a first attempt, I was slightly satisfied.  It doesn’t look terrible, but I’ve got some ideas for the next one.

They sell pool noodles at the dollar store – you know, the colorful tubes of foam that kids use in the pool to float on and whirl around their heads to create that horrible noise that sounds like a wind tunnel.  Well, that’s going to be my next wreath form.  I figure that I can cut it and then duct tape the ends together to make a circle.  Duct tape is a fabulous thing.  This way the form will be thicker and more uniform all the way around.  And I will NEVER use sheer ribbon again.  Solid and thick ribbon from now on.

Oh well.  Every craft is an adventure and there’s always something new to learn!  Any other suggestions or ideas, please leave them in the comments section!

Happy crafting!

2 Responses to “Adventures in Wreath Making”

  1. youareherex April 25, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    quick glance at the pic alone looks like you are making a bomb lol

    • stacy1220 April 25, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

      Oh no! That’s not good. I guess you could say my attempt at making a wreath “bombed.” Hahaha

Leave a Reply

