Make Your Own Apple Sauce

30 Apr

I never realized how easy making apple sauce really was until a couple of months ago when I decided that we couldn’t have a pork chop dinner without warm, fresh, homemade apple sauce.  I always, always, always have apples in the house.  Not only are they the perfect portable snack packed with good-for-you fiber, but eating an apple can help clean your teeth after a meal AND they’re just tasty.  Making apple sauce is the perfect way to use up those apples that are getting a little soft or bruised.  Seriously, this is another one of those end-of-the-week recipes to use up the produce sitting on the counter.

The original apple sauce recipe I used calls for the following ingredients:

6 apples, peeled, cored, and chopped in small pieces

3/4 c apple cider or juice

1 lemon, juiced

1/4 c light brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

I didn’t have any apple juice in the house because the boyfriend decided that the bottle that was in the refrigerator wasn’t good anymore (even though it was), and threw it away.  So, I had to compromise and change-up the recipe a bit.  I figured you could use water in place of the juice because the apples are sweet on their own and the brown sugar will just make it sweeter.  But, when we were at the market over the weekend, he picked up a carton of Tropicana juice – peach orchard blend or something like that.  I decided to use that juice instead, give the apples another flavor to grab on to and play with.

I also didn’t have six apples; only four.  More altering of the recipe needed.  No worries.  Half the fun of being in the kitchen is experimenting.  I don’t get too worried about things not working out.  Those apples were on their way to horse farm down the road anyway, so if the apple sauce didn’t taste good, no worries.  But if it did, there would be a new addition to my “mad kitchen skills” arsenal.

Honestly, it came out pretty yummy.  The different flavored juice added an extra something to the apple sauce; it was still super tasty and sweet.  I bet you can add any flavored of juice you’d like to make flavored apple sauce.  I mean, they sell it in the store, so why not make it at home?  Maybe next time I’ll make it with cranberry juice; I always have some in the fridge, and hopefully the boyfriend won’t throw it out on me. 🙂

Enjoy it warm off the stove, or cold out of the fridge.  Either way, you’ll never feel the same about store-bought apple sauce again.  You can eat this as a healthy snack, or pour it over pork chops.  Yummy, yummy, yummy.  Here’s my altered recipe:

Ingredients:

4 apples, peeled, cored, and chopped into small pieces

3/4 c Peach Orchard Punch (juice by Tropicana)

1 lemon, juiced

1/4 c light brown sugar (I didn’t pack it or fill the measuring cup all the way, so it was less than 1/4c)

A sprinkle of cinnamon

Directions:

Put everything in a pan, and bring it to a boil.  Cover, and reduce to a simmer.  Cook 15 minutes, or until the apples are tender.  Mash with a potato masher.  I like my apple sauce a little chunky.  If you like smooth, put it in a blender.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

