Bean Salsa (or Cowboy Caviar)

18 May

The other night, the boyfriend and I decided to make fajitas for dinner.  I even bought steak for him (chicken for me).  I wanted something on the side that would be yummy and easy.  I decided to make this bean salsa.  The first time I had it was during lunch duty one day a couple of years ago.  One of my favorite girls (I probably shouldn’t say I have a favorite, but oh well.) made me try it.  I asked her to have her mom send me the recipe, but things got hectic and I never got it.

Cut to now.  A handful of canned ingredients mixed in with some fresh produce, and voila!

Super simple and super tasty with some Multi-Grain Tostitos! This would be a great dish to bring to a picnic or cookout.  It’s very inexpensive to make, and you end up with A LOT.  Feed an army status.  Not to mention the fact that it’s packed with fiber and deliciousness.  Wicked healthy.

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

1 can black beans, rinsed

1 can pinto beans, rinsed

1 can small white beans, rinsed

1 can sweet corn kernels, drained

1/2 a red onion, finely diced

1-2 tomatoes, seeded and finely diced

1 handful (about 1/2-3/4 c) cilantro, chopped

the juice of 2 limes

 

Directions:

1.  Put everything in a bowl and stir.  Yup. That easy.

2.  Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

