Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred…

19 May

…is insane.

This video has been a part of my always-growing collection of workout DVDs for years.  I have tried it at least five times, never making it past DAY 5, but nonetheless, I keep going back.

Maybe it’s the promise that I can potentially lose 20 pounds in 30 days.  Maybe it’s the challenge of seeing if I can actually make it to the second workout because up until this point, I never have.  Maybe it’s because I HATE Jillian Michaels and refuse to let her win.

Whatever the reason, and because a friend of mine has recently started her 30 Day Shred, I decided to give it yet another try.  It couldn’t hurt, right?  I just laughed out loud at that sentence, because here I am, 20 minutes after finishing DAY 1 and my arms are still shaking, and I need an ice pack for my knee.

But, I’m determined.  I mapped out my 30 days.  Weighed myself this morning and took “before” photos.  And I’m trying to convince myself that I can do anything for 10 days (small victories).  Let’s see if I live to tell the tale of the first round before I start thinking of DAY 20 and DAY 30.  I think I’ll have to convince my aching body of that more than I will my mind.  Sheesh.  This is going hurt.

I’ll fill you all in at the next milestone:  DAY 10.  Anyone else out there trying the 30 Day Shred?  Tips?  Sympathies?  Anything?

2 Responses to “Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred…”

  1. alundeberg May 19, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    You and I are pretty similar: we’re both teachers who love to cook and we both have animosity towards Jillian Michaels, but own Thirty Day Shred anyway. I have not been able to progress beyond the week one workout, but for awhile there I stuck with it and did it three times a week. I also interspersed it with other, less strenuous, workouts. I tried week two, but was left screaming “WTF!” to my TV screen. That said, I saw some results by just using week one for a few weeks and basically trying to ignore Jillian. Good luck!

    • stacy1220 May 23, 2012 at 11:45 am #

      I finished Day 5 this morning. I’m muting her now, and throwing nasty looks her way with each lunge. I’m going to keep trying for every day. I still find myself doing “girly”pushups, but I’m okay with that. I am a girl. hahaha

Leave a Reply

