When Life Hands You Lemons…

11 Jun

…write a blog about it.

I am 32 and lately have been feeling less than fabulous.  I know in my head that everything happens for a reason, and that I shouldn’t take things personally, but sometimes the head and the heart don’t match up.  Never mind misfiring synapses; it’s pure miscommunication.  Now, if I was in my late teens or even my early twenties, I might feel like curling up in a little ball in a dark corner hoping never to see the sun again, for what good could come of that?  I have discovered I’m much less maudlin in my “old” age, but heartbreak is heartbreak no matter how many years you have racked up.  So, while I am in mourning over the illusion of love, I have vowed to be more “adult” and productive about it than ever before.

I believe I mentioned The Happiness Project in my last post.  Well, I took it off the bookshelf this past weekend to re-read.  I am in dire need of happiness right now, and I know the only person I can help right now is myself.  So, it’s on a quest for happiness I find myself.  The first thing that author Gretchen Rubin does (besides extensive research on happiness itself) is create a list of Commandments that she wants to live by – basically a moral code.  I always do something along the same lines with my students when we read the Transcendentalists, so now it’s my turn.  The teacher has become the student.  Well, I sat down and stared at a blank screen, pondering what was important to me, what I needed to be reminded of, and what I needed to strive for in my life.  Here’s my list:

Stacy’s Personal Commandments

  • To thine own self, be true.
  • Always remember your manners.
  • You can’t fight with nice.
  • Smile through the pain.
  • Take a deep breath and jump in.
  • Don’t let the past dictate the present.
  • Pay attention to signs from the Universe.
  • Find the good in each day.
  • Take care of yourself – mentally, emotionally, and physically.
  • Remember, you can only control your own actions.
  • Be present.
  • Relax.
  • Be creative:  write, read, craft, cook, share.
  • Be strong enough to say what you feel.
  • Never settle for less than the best.

I plan on framing these Commandments and hanging them near my bed so that each morning and each night when I see them, I can remind myself of what is truly important in this world.  And that’s me.

Please feel free to make and share your own Commandments with me or your friends and family.  Or just make them for yourself.  This is my first step to a better and happier life.  It could be your first step too!

The sun always shines after a storm.

7 Responses to “When Life Hands You Lemons…”

  1. bornattwentyfive June 11, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    I love your list of personal commandments! I need to make one for myself!

  2. alundeberg June 11, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

    This is a great list! One of my Commandments is “if there’s nothing going wrong, don’t worry about it”.

    • stacy1220 June 11, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

      That’s a good one, Amy! I am quite the worrier too! I am always waiting for something to go wrong, and I freak out about things I have no control over!

      • alundeberg June 11, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

        When I was planning my wedding, I was also teaching at the university, finishing my graduate classes, studying for the grad exam, and working at the same time. Prioritizing my worries helped save my sanity. What I like about your list is that it focuses on things that one can actually do, rather than like you said, focusing on things we have no control over. It’s all about how we react to things. Great post!

      • stacy1220 June 11, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

        Understanding that we can only control ourselves is a very hard lesson to learn and put into practice. I guess we just need to keep on keeping on!

  3. Christine June 11, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    I say make lemon drops, lemon mojitos, lemon margaritas or lemon cake!

    • stacy1220 June 11, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

      I think those are all fabulous suggestions, Christine!

Leave a Reply

