Dinner and a Cocktail

13 Jul

The other day, I met up with a girlfriend of mine.  She needed some crafting advice for her upcoming wedding, and I was more than happy to help her vision become reality.  We lunched at Olive Garden, not something I frequently do, but I must admit that I love their salad and bread sticks.  To celebrate our success on the crafting front, we both had this delicious cocktail that I knew I would recreate at home (since I had all the necessary ingredients).

Now, I’m not a drink-by-myself kind of girl, but last night I decided that I would be.  I made a delicious dinner of whole wheat pasta with a red sauce full of peppers, zucchini, mushrooms, onions, and chicken and the cocktail.  I can’t recall what the name of it was, but I’ll call just call a little bit of heaven in a glass.

As for recipes, the pasta was super easy.  Just saute up whatever veggies you have on hand, throw in a jar of sauce, and add some cooked chicken.  I will admit that I used a jarred sauce last night.  I know it’s not very Italian of me, but it was quick and easy and there are some really fantastic brands out there now.  Just don’t tell my mom!  Serve it over pasta, and voila!  Delish!

The cocktail is as follows, but mind you, I didn’t measure anything:

Blueberries – if I had to guess, I’d say about five or six

Lemon juice – about half of a fresh lemon, squeezed

Moscato – I used a pink moscato, but any would do

Sparkling water

First, I put the blueberries in the bottom of my glass and  muddled them to release their flavor.  I just used the end of my rolling pin to crush them up a but.  Then I added the lemon juice.  Next comes the wine (maybe 1/2 – 3/4 c) and then I topped it off with some sparkling water.  Stir it up and enjoy!!!  It’s very light and very refreshing and very addicting!

Leave a Reply

