33 by 33

2 Aug

The title hooked you, didn’t it?  Whatever does it mean?  Let me tell you.

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking this week.  The summer is winding down.  School picks back up in a few weeks.  Fall is around the corner.  Things are happening.  This second half of the year may mean Thanksgiving and Christmas to some, but for me, it means BIRTHDAY!  Even though the number keeps getting higher, I still get excited about my birthday.  Maybe it’s “only child syndrome” since I know I’ll get lots of attention.  The kids at school always keep a countdown.  I call my mother every day and remind her about the day of birth.  Because clearly she-who-birthed-me would forget without my constant reminders.

So what does my upcoming 33rd birthday have to do with this post?  You may have guessed that one of the 33’s in the title refers to my birthday.  The other refers to the pounds I have convinced myself I will lose by then.  Even more curious now, aren’t you?

On  31 July, I decided that I needed to make a SERIOUS commitment to my ultimate health and happiness.  And honestly, 33 by 33 just sounds good. Maybe the fabulous title of this endeavor will help keep me motivated.  So, on Tuesday, I decided to get back to my health journal (I fell off the wagon).  I also decided to take pictures and measurements.  I will NOT share those with you because I’m sure you like your eyes.  It was made apparent to me by looking at these pictures that I have a double-belly.  Anyone know what I’m talking about?  My top belly sticks out a little farther than my lower belly.  Not the most attractive set of abs out there.

I printed out mini-calendars that I put in my journal to keep track of workouts (and how many days are in this challenge)!

There’s another page with November, December, and my measurements and starting weight.  I did a quick Google search for calendar templates and found these.  I easily got three on a page.  The smiley faces are to let me see when I workout for at least 30 minutes.  The goal is to fill the calendars with smiles!

Yesterday, 1 August, seemed like the perfect day to start. I met up with my best friend and we went for a walk.  I filled her in and she was so excited about it.  She and I were born a week apart, and have been friends for over 20 years.  Last year, she and I made a contract and bet concerning my losing ten pounds in order to keep a newly purchased pair of summer wedges.  I busted my arse, lost the ten pounds, and welcomed the shoes home.  While we walked, my friend and I talked about the things that worked then and how I can make this new endeavor work too.  Here’s what we came up with:

  1. BE ACCOUNTABLE.  It’s important to let people know what you’re doing and why.  Therefore, I will be sending pictures of my weigh-in (the number on the scale) to my friend each week.  I will also text her after each workout.  This worked great the last time.  If she didn’t get a text from me, she was on the phone, telling me to get moving.  I will also hold myself accountable to YOU.  I will share my ups and downs with you on Weigh-In Wednesday (It just so happened to work out that way, disgustingly cute, I know.)
  2. HEALTH JOURNAL.  It’s also really important to keep a journal, and to do it honestly.  For instance, I had ice cream last night.  Not the way to start, but I wrote it down nonetheless.  I need to see what I’m eating and how it makes me feel so that I can make any necessary changes.
  3. BELIEVE IN MYSELF.  Not to get all Weight Watchers and Jennifer Hudson on you, but this is important too.  I know that there will be good days and bad days, but I can’t give up.  Nothing worth anything is every easy, but I need to constantly remind myself that I’m worth it.
  4. TRY NEW THINGS.  I will continue to try new recipes and new workouts and will share the good ones with you all.

So, as of yesterday, I’m on a mission to lose 33 pounds by my 33rd birthday.  I have almost five full months (or 142 days) to do it.  I figure if I was able to lose ten pounds in five weeks, I should be able to do this.

3 Responses to “33 by 33”

  1. Robert August 2, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    Great idea, Birthday Buddy! I’m going to try to lose 32 pounds by my 32nd. If I was really ambitious, I would try twice that, but we’ll cross that bridge if it ever becomes an option.

    • stacy1220 August 2, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

      Birthday Buddy, YES!!!!!! This is totally doable in the amount of time we have AS LONG AS we stay committed and don’t give up!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 32 by 32 – An Idea Stolen From Stacy « Trying Too Hard: A Blog - August 5, 2012

    […] | Filed under: Changes, Life, Weight-Loss, Woe Is Me |Leave a comment » My friend Stacy recently posted something that I think is a great idea. She plans on losing 33 pounds in time for her 33rd […]

Leave a Reply

