Sweaty Saturday: A Cardio/Strength Circuit

4 Aug

I live in Hades.  At least that’s what it feels like with the 90+ degree temperature and humidity that punches you in the face (and frizzes your hair).  There was no way in hell (hahahaha) that I was going to go outside for a walk/run.  I decided to do a circuit inside, while the air conditioner buzzed and “The Princess Diaries” aired.  Here’s what I did:

30 Jumping Jacks

10 Squats

20 Side Lunges (10 each side)

50 Butt Kickers

20 Crunches

20 Glute Kickbacks

10 Push-ups (on my knees)

10 Tricep Dips

:20 second Plank

No rest between exercises.  Do the circuit THREE times.

With the crunches, I did 20 regular crunches the first circuit, 20 oblique crunches (10 each side) for the second circuit, and 20 regular crunches the third circuit.  I think the next time I do this workout, I’ll do bicycle crunches during that third circuit.

The results:  I was sweaty, tired, and breathing hard when I finished.  It took about 20 minutes to get through three rounds.  This could be a great morning workout; I have time for a 20-30 minute workout before leaving for school (depending on what time I actually get my arse out of bed and how much wandering Molly does on her morning walks).  And I can always do more rounds if I feel like getting really crazy.  But whatever happens, it earned me my fourth smiley face in as many days, and that’s what I’m going for.

Keep moving, folks!  Anyone have any workouts they like doing at home?  Feel free to share!

2 Responses to “Sweaty Saturday: A Cardio/Strength Circuit”

  1. alundeberg August 4, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

    What dedication! I got the new Jillian Michaels 3 20-minute kickboxing video. So far I’ve done two routines and find the moves easy, but the sequence is weird. Plus she doesn’t work out both sides of the body–we’ll do two sets on the right, but none on the left. There was only one time she switched. I’m all about the videos b/c I can’t focus enough to do a circuit routine like yours.

    • stacy1220 August 4, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

      I love the Best-Ever Hollywood Workout from Shape. Gunnar Peterson is the trainer, and I really, really, really like the exercises he does. Good pace, and he works both sides equally. As for this workout, I won’t lie. I wrote it down and taped it to the tv so that I could see it as I worked. Hahaha.

Leave a Reply

