Meal Monday: Banana Ice Cream

6 Aug

I’ve come up with kitschy names for the days of my week for two reasons: 1.) It’s punny, and 2.) It keeps me on a schedule. Today is Meal Monday -recipe day! You are going to LOVE this one. Ice cream. Made from bananas. Sounds a little iffy, but let me assure you that is yummmmmmmy.

This is just another “bananas-are-getting-too-ripe-to-do-anything-with” recipe. A few simple steps gets you creamy – and healthy- ice cream.

So, if you have bananas hanging out on the counter that look anything like the ones below, give this a go!

First thing’s first. Peel and slice your super ripe bananas. Lay them out on a cookie sheet and pop them into the freezer for an hour or two. Or, if you’re like me, you’ll forget that you put them in the freezer and not remember until the next morning. This, I assure you, is fine.

Once the banana slices are frozen, peel them off the cookie sheet and pop them into a blender or food processor. So, I only have a mini food processor, and I thought it would work. But it didn’t. I ended up having to take my banana mixture out of the processor and use my blender instead. I think I may have to get over to my mom’s house and steal her food processor.

Once you start chopping, pulsing, grinding or whatever you choose, your frozen bananas will start to look like frozen crumbs. Don’t give up! Keep going until it turns into this creamy goodness:

Now, here is where you can get creative! Add whatever flavors you like: peanut butter, cocoa powder, vanilla, chopped fruit, chocolate chips. The list is truly endless. Or, you can add what I did: NUTELLA. Oh yes. I said it. I added about a tablespoon of nutella to my bananas and mixed it for a few seconds in the blender to get this:

Nutella banana ice cream

You’re probably wondering if this “ice cream” has an overwhelming banana taste, and honestly, no it doesn’t. And if you decided to add other flavors to it, it tastes like whatever you add. My three bananas yielded about two cups of ice cream.

Enjoy this delicious ice cream, and let me know what flavor combos you try!

Leave a Reply

