Silicone Bake Cups: Are They Just for Cupcakes?

19 Jan

If you’re anything like me, you want to find multiple ways to use things you’ve got lying around your house.  I hate to see empty baskets or containers, and I like to be creative with how I display things.  For instance, all of my vitamins and medications are on display on this cake stand I made:

vitamins

I’ll make a post showing you how easy it is to make your own cake stand.  I have given them away with goodies during holiday time, and they make great organizers for the bathroom or jewelry too.  So. Easy.

Do you ever bake with silicone molds?  Do you pack lunches, either for yourself or for your kiddos?  Then these versatile baking goodies might become your new best friend.  Sometimes I can’t find my divided plastic containers when it’s time to pack lunch.  Okay.  If I’m being honest, sometimes I don’t want to look; my Tupperware cabinet is an avalanche waiting to happen.  That’s where these little beauties come into play.

bake cups

I don’t like when certain foods touch.  Call me OCD, but I don’t enjoy when my mashed cauliflower mingles with freshly washed raspberries.  I need boundaries in my life.  You can turn any container you have in your cupboard into a divided container with these silicone bake cups.  They are also super helpful if you have something that needs to be heated packed with something that doesn’t need to be warmed up like a salad or fruit.  It’s fun and easy to pack healthy lunches with some flair that all your co-workers and your kiddos friends will be jealous of.

If you’re following a diet like the 21 Day Fix, you can use the colors to keep track of your containers as well.  I think that would be a helpful way to keep on target when you’re on the go.

cuppies

Now, for all intensive purposes, I did find a divided container in the dishwasher that I forgot was clean and ready to empty, but I did use a silicone cup to add my raspberries to my lunch.  I can easily remove the bake cup while the rest of my lunch goes into the microwave to warm up.  The great thing about these bake cups is that they are easily washed and definitely reusable which might save you some cash in the long run.

lunch

These silicone baking cups can add organization to more areas of your home than just the kitchen.  Use them in a desk drawer to separate paper clips, pins, erasures, and more.  They would be great to use when organizing jewelry too.  What other ways could you see using these versatile containers?  Let me know!

2 Responses to “Silicone Bake Cups: Are They Just for Cupcakes?”

  1. jamieayres January 20, 2015 at 7:55 pm #

    Oh my gosh! I LOVE this idea . . . anything to make my life easier 🙂 My daughter stole my cake stand to display her nail polish bottles! Anyway, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

